Brendan Jamison name












(clockwise from top left) New Members: Chris Williams, Open Black Hole : Graham Keddie, One of a series of 25 : Brendan Jamison, Helen's Tower : Jane Ackroyd. Mi Sueno


RAWCLIFFE-KING, ANNE. and NEW, TERRY. Royal British Society of Sculptors 2012-13, London, May 2013, p. 13










In 1905 the Society had 51 members, including all the leading sculptors of the day, many of whom were internationally recognised. In recognition of their achievements, it received royal patronage in 1911 and became the Royal Society of British Sculptors.

The principle aims of the Society have been variously interpreted over the years but there has always been a strong educational element in its activities, with respect to both professional standards and public knowledge/awareness. In recognition of this it was given charitable status in 1963. In this decade it was also generously bequeathed the premises it still occupies by the late sculptor Cecil Thomas.

In the 1990s it began an active exhibition programme by opening a Gallery at its headquarters and mounting large off site shows. This period of renewed activity attracted artists worldwide and in 2003 the Society recognised its growing number of internationally based sculptors as full members by changing its name and constitution to become the Royal British Society of Sculptors.



The Royal British Society of Sculptors (RBS) is an independent artist led organisation that promotes high professional and creative standards among sculptors/artists and is committed to making the full range of contemporary practice accessible to all.

The governing body, between the Annual General Meetings, is the elected Council; members of which are Trustees of the registered charity (212513) and Directors of the Company (83239).

Chaired by the President, the Council consists of the Vice President, the Treasurer and up to 9 others. Up to three of whom can be drawn from other professions and are not required to be sculptors. All members are elected for a term of three years.


The 2011 - 2012 Council is:


President: Terry New PRBS
Vice President: Clare Burnett VPRBS

Treasurer: John Quitter



Justine Cook ARBS

Professor Brian Falconbridge PPRBS
Charles Hadcock FRBS
Paul Lewthwaite FRBS
Dr. Michael Petry FRBS
Louise Plant ARBS
Geoffrey Matthews

Isabel Vasseur


The Council meets a minimum of four times a year and is responsible for defining the strategic vision, policy, procedures and programme and reviewing its progress. Council delegates implementation to a small team of staff and volunteers led by the Director, who is the Company Secretary and advises Council but is not a member of it. The officers and Director meet to review finance and development matters between formal Council meetings as required.


Membership of the RBS is selective and the sculptor members of Council meet before the full Council to review applications and select new members.

Council is also supported by other committees that advise on key aspects of the Society’s work and include a mix of skills and professions.






Since 1911, when it was recognised for its services to the art of sculpture, the RBS has been privileged to enjoy the patronage of the reigning monarch. The Society gratefully acknowledges the continuing support of Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II.


Vice Patrons


Eminent individuals with an abiding personal interest or an institutional connection to sculpture who support the RBS’ objectives are personally invited to become Vice Patrons normally for a period of three to five years. We are proud to be supported by:


The Lord Palumbo

The Rt Hon the Lord Stevenson of Coddenham
Debby Brice
Keith Clark
Susan Crewe
Simon Gillespie
Rupert Hambro
Sir George Iacobescu CBE
Sir Henry Keswick
Sir Peter Michael CBE
Lady Sally Oliver
Hugh Pilkington
Dr. Timothy Potts
John Quitter
Sir Jocelyn Stevens CVO
Michael Wilson
Paul Zuckerman


Partners & Benefactors


We are delighted to work with a range of partners, supporters and benefactors across the many different facets of our activities. Without their assistance we could not achieve as much as we do and we are grateful to everyone who shares and supports, in so many different ways, our passion for and commitment to the art and practice of sculpture.


Over the last three years this includes the following:


Charitable Trusts


Brian Mercer Charitable Trust, Cadogan Charity, Gilbert Bayes Charitable Trust, Debora Loeb Brice Foundation, Goldsmith’s Company Charity, Hedley Trust, Marina Kleinwort Charitable Trust, North Street Trust




Altura Communications, Aztec Bronze Foundry, Canary Wharf Group plc, Christie’s (South Kensington), Debevoise and Plimpton LLP (London), Heath Lambert Insurance, Hillsboro Fine Art Gallery (Dublin), Graylings, WSP Group plc


Public bodies


London Borough of Enfield, Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, Commune of Pietrasanta


Universities & Museums


de Montfort University (Leicester), Edinburgh College of Art, Fitzwilliam Museum (Cambridge), Victoria and Albert Museum (London), University of Edinburgh, University of Leicester


Many individuals and some organisations prefer their gifts to remain anonymous and their association with us to be private. We record our thanks to them for their philanthropic generosity.




Many volunteers donate their time, energy and skills to helping the RBS – it could not be done without them.






Royal British Society of Sculptors
108 Old Brompton Road

T:+44 (0)207 373 8615

Gallery opening times

12 - 5.30pm Wednesday to Friday (or by appointment)

The Royal British Society of Sculptors is situated between the South Kensington and Gloucester Road tube stations on Old Brompton Road. Buses C1 and 430 stop directly outside and 49, 70, 74, 14, 211 and 345 all stop nearby.







 Brendan Jamison name

All images © Royal British Society of Sculptors